Draft Bereavement Support Payment Regulations 2017 — A New Scheme for Bereavement Support Payments — 15 Mar 2017 at 18:56

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a new scheme for bereavement support payments.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

The regulations set out the details of the bereavement support payments, which replace previous bereavement benefits. Bereavement support is paid when someone's spouse or civil partner died. The regulations provide for a standard payment rate of £100 per month and a higher rate of £350 per month. The higher rate is paid to those who were pregnant or were entitled to child benefit at the time of the bereavement, or became entitled to it a result of the bereavement. Payments are made for eighteen months

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con291 1088.5%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab1 166072.6%
LDem0 6066.7%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 46085.2%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:292 236082.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Chris WhiteWarwick and LeamingtonCon (front bench)no
Rosie CooperWest LancashireLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive