Technical and Further Education Bill — Report — 27 Mar 2017 at 19:15

Moved by Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

18: Before Clause 41, insert the following new Clause-“Constitution of further education corporations(1) Section 20 of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 (constitution of corporation and conduct of the institution) is amended as follows.(2) After subsection (4) insert-“(5) An instrument must provide for the role of the Clerk to include providing advice to the corporation with regard to matters including-(a) the operation of its powers,(b) the conduct of its business,(c) matters of governance practice, and(d) general procedural matters.””

Moved by Lord Lucas

22: Schedule 1, page 26, line 4, at end insert-“( ) The group of persons that prepared a standard must have considered, including within the standard, a qualification widely recognised by employers for that occupation or for an aspect of it.”

Moved by Baroness Garden of Frognal

23: Schedule 1, page 27, line 14, at end insert “using an appropriate form of continuous assessment.”

Moved by Baroness Garden of Frognal

24: Schedule 1, page 28, line 37, leave out “the qualification to which it considers section A2IA” and insert “relevant standards or common qualification criteria which”

Ayes 164, Noes 166.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con152 (+2 tell) 159.8%
Crossbench9 1111.2%
Lab0 84 (+1 tell)40.3%
LDem0 63 (+1 tell)62.7%
Non-affiliated2 211.4%
PC0 1100.0%
UUP1 050.0%
Total:164 16241.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Lucas Conaye
Viscount Brookeborough Crossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbenchno
Lord Mawson Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
The Duke of SomersetCrossbenchno
Baroness Watkins of TavistockCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive