Health Service Medical Supplies (Costs) Bill — Commons Reason — 5 Apr 2017 at 16:30

Moved by Lord O'Shaughnessy

3A: Because it would not always be appropriate to use the powers conferred on the Secretary of State to control the price of medicines and other medical supplies to promote and support the growth of the life sciences sector, and those powers cannot be exercised to ensure that patients have access to medicines and treatments.

Moved by Lord Warner

3B: Insert the following new Clause-“Duty to take account of the life sciences sector and access to new medicines and treatmentsIn discharging, through the provisions established or amended by this Act, its responsibility to secure best value for the National Health Service in purchasing medicines and medical supplies, the Government must take account of the need to-(a) promote and support a growing life sciences sector within the United Kingdom economy; and(b) ensure that patients have rapid clinical access to new clinically effective and cost-effective medicines and treatments approved by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence through their technology appraisal process.””

Ayes 245, Noes 208.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.0%
Con0 182 (+2 tell)71.0%
Crossbench45 (+1 tell) 1534.5%
DUP1 275.0%
Judge0 214.3%
Lab126 (+1 tell) 060.2%
LDem67 065.7%
Non-affiliated3 214.3%
UUP0 2100.0%
Total:243 20554.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Viscount Brookeborough Crossbenchno
Lord Carey of CliftonCrossbenchno
Lord Condon Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Cox Crossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Dannatt Crossbenchno
Lord Dear Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Dykes Crossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Kakkar Crossbenchno
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Stevens of KirkwhelpingtonCrossbenchno
Lord Stirrup Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Morrow DUPaye
Lord Kalms Non-affiliatedno
Lord Taylor of WarwickNon-affiliatedno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive