Queen's Speech — Programme of Legislation — 29 Jun 2017 at 16:50

The majority of MPs voted to support the Conservative government's programme of legislation as set out in the Queen's Speech, including leaving the European Union, more high speed rail and increasing the national living wage.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

Those voting to send the letter of thanks to the monarch can presumably be inferred to be supportive of the measures laid out in the Queen's Speech which included:

  • leaving the European Union
  • more high speed rail
  • increasing the national living wage.
  • protecting victims of domestic violence and abuse
  • tackling the gender pay gap and discrimination against people on the basis of their race, faith, gender, disability or sexual orientation.
  • seeking a fairer energy market and reduced prices for consumers
  • a new "digital charter" and data protection laws
  • modernising the courts system and to helping reduce motor insurance premiums
  • providing an independent public advocate, who will act for bereaved families after a public disaster
  • establishing a commission for countering extremism
  • a commitment to spending zero point seven per cent of national income on international development,

[This vote is considered, by mySociety, to be in essence a vote of confidence in the Government, so does not impact statements on MPs' policy positions on TheyWorkForYou.com]

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con313 (+2 tell) 0099.4%
DUP9 0090.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab0 257 (+2 tell)098.9%
LDem0 120100.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 350100.0%
Total:323 309099.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive