Business of the House (Private Members' Bills) — 17 Jul 2017 at 21:28

The majority of MPs voted against doubling the number of days where Private Members’ Bills are given precedence from 13 to 26 in the upcoming session. Private Members' Bills enable MPs who are not ministers to propose new laws.

MPs were discussing the following motion:

  • That Private Members’ Bills shall have precedence over Government business on 20 October, 3 November, 1 December 2017, 19 January, 2 and 23 February, 16 March, 27 April, 11 May, 15 June, 6 July, 26 October and 23 November 2018.

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment proposed: (b), leave out from ‘That’ to end and insert:
  • 'notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order No. 14(8) relating to the number of Fridays on which Private Members’ Bills shall have precedence over Government business, Private Members’ Bills shall have precedence over Government business on 20 and 27 October, 3 and 10 November, 1 and 8 December 2017, 19 and 26 January, 2, 16 and 23 February, 16 March, 27 April, 11 and 18 May, 15 and 22 June, 6 and 13 July, 19 and 26 October, 16 and 23 November 2018, 18 January, 15 February and 15 March 2019.’.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con306 (+2 tell) 0097.2%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 253 (+2 tell)097.3%
LDem0 4033.3%
PC0 1025.0%
SNP0 27077.1%
Total:316 287094.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive