European Union (Withdrawal) Bill — Clause 1 — Repeal of the European Communities Act 1972 — Consent of Devolved Legislatures — 14 Nov 2017 at 18:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the consent of the Scottish Parliament, the National Assembly for Wales and the Northern Ireland Assembly for the United Kingdom to leave the European Union.

MPs were considering the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 79, page 1, line 3, at end insert:
  • ‘(2) Regulations under section 19(2) bringing into force subsection (1) may not be made until the Prime Minister is satisfied that resolutions have been passed by the Scottish Parliament, the National Assembly for Wales and the Northern Ireland Assembly signifying consent to the commencement of subsection (1).”

Had the amendment not been rejected the new subclause would have been added to Clause 1 of the Bill[2], which at the time of the vote only had one clause, stating:

The European Communities Act 1972 legislated for the UK's membership of European Communities and incorporated European Union law into UK law.

Clause 19 of the Bill[3] sets out the dates when elements of the Bill come into force, it states Clause 1 would take effect "on such day as a Minister of the Crown may by regulations appoint", the rejected amendment sought to add a condition for appointing such a date.

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory note:

  • This amendment would make the repeal of the European Communities Act 1972 on exit day conditional on the Prime Minister gaining consent from the devolved legislatures.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con305 (+2 tell) 0097.2%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 1050.0%
Lab3 101.5%
LDem0 120100.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 33 (+2 tell)0100.0%
Total:319 52058.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Albert OwenYnys MônLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive