European Union (Withdrawal) Bill — Schedule 2 — Powers for Scottish and Welsh Ministers to Amend Retained EU Law — 6 Dec 2017 at 17:00

The majority of MPs voted to prevent Welsh and Scottish ministers making regulations which amend, or are inconsistent with, European Union law retained as part of United Kingdom law following the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the union.

MPs were considering the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 167, page 17, line 9, at end insert—

“(3) This paragraph does not apply to regulations made under this Part by the Scottish Ministers or the Welsh Ministers.”

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have added a further sub-paragraph to paragraph 3 of Schedule 2[2] of the Bill. Paragraph 3 provided for a restriction of the powers of ministers in devolved administrations in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland preventing them from modifying European Union law retained as part of United Kingdom law on the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the union and preventing them from introducing regulations inconsistent with retained European Union law. The amendment sought to exempt the Scottish and Welsh ministers from these restrictions.

This rejected amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory note:

  • This amendment would provide that the power of the Scottish Ministers and the Welsh Ministers to make regulations under Part 1 of Schedule 2 extends to amending directly applicable EU law incorporated into UK law, in line with a Minister of the Crown’s power in Clause 7.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con304 (+2 tell) 0096.8%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 2060.0%
Lab0 245094.6%
LDem0 120100.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 32 (+2 tell)097.1%
Total:315 296095.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive