European Union (Withdrawal) Bill — New Clause 13 — UK Retaining EU Common Customs Tarriff and Common Customs Policy — 20 Dec 2017 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted not to make the United Kingdom retaining the European Union's common customs tariff and common commercial policy a prerequisite for the United Kingdom leaving the European Union.

MPs were considering the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled Customs duties and stated:

  • “A Minister of the Crown may not make regulations to appoint exit day until Royal Assent is granted to an Act of Parliament making provision for the substitution of section 5 (customs duties) of the European Communities Act 1972 with provisions that shall allow the United Kingdom to remain a member of the EU common customs tariff and common commercial policy.”

The rejected new clause was accompanied by the following explanatory statement:

  • This new clause would ensure that provisions allowing the UK to remain a member of the Customs Union, as currently set out in section 5 of the European Communities Act 1972 but set to be repealed by section 1 of this Act, will be enacted ahead of exit day.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con306 (+2 tell) 2098.1%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1020.0%
Lab3 62 (+2 tell)025.9%
LDem0 11091.7%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 33094.3%
Total:319 114068.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Anna SoubryBroxtowewhilst Conaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadwhilst Lab (front bench)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton Northwhilst Lab (front bench)no
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive