European Union (Withdrawal) Bill — New Clause 44 — Independent Evaluation — Health and Social Care — 20 Dec 2017 at 21:22

The majority of MPs voted not to require an independent evaluation of the impact of this the European Union Withdrawal Act on the health and social care sector.

MPs were considering the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Duty to make arrangements for an independent evaluation: health and social care and began:

  • ‘(1) No later than 1 year after this Act is passed, the Secretary of State must make arrangements for the independent evaluation of the impact of this Act on the health and social care sector.

the proposed new clause went on to set out details of the requirements for the evaluation and its publication.

The rejected new clause was accompanied by the following explanatory notice:

  • This new clause would require an independent evaluation of the impact of the Act upon the health and social care sector to be made after consulting the Scottish Ministers, the Welsh Ministers and the relevant Northern Ireland department, service providers, those requiring health and social care services, and others.


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con308 (+2 tell) 0098.1%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1020.0%
Lab0 244094.2%
LDem0 11091.7%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 31 (+2 tell)094.3%
Total:318 292095.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive