European Union (Withdrawal) Bill -Clause 9 — Continued Membership of EU Single Market and Customs Union as Prerequisite for Regulations Implementing Withdrawal Agreement — 17 Jan 2018 at 16:30

The majority of MPs voted against requiring an agreement for the United Kingdom to remain a member of the European Union single market and customs union before allowing ministers to make regulations to implement an agreement on the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union.

MPs were considering the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The amendment rejected by the majority of MPs was:

  • Amendment 59, page 7, line 16, at end insert—
  • ‘(5) No regulations may be made under this section until the Secretary of State has signed an agreement with the European Union guaranteeing that the United Kingdom will remain a permanent member of the EU single market and customs union.”

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory notice:

  • This amendment would mean the UK would confirm its continued membership of the single market and customs union before Ministers of the Crown carry out any actions under Clause 9 of the Bill.

The amendment would have added an additional sub-clause to clause 9[2] of the Bill, the clause provided for ministers to make regulations to implement the withdrawal agreement.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con307 (+2 tell) 1098.1%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent2 1060.0%
Lab3 48019.7%
LDem0 11091.7%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 33 (+2 tell)0100.0%
Total:322 99066.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Frank FieldBirkenheadwhilst Lab (front bench)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive