Nuclear Safeguards Bill — Transition Period — Nuclear Regulation — Euratom — 23 Jan 2018 at 15:45

The majority of MPs voted against a transition period of at least two years for the transition to a domestic nuclear regulatory regime from the framework provided via the European Atomic Energy Community ("Euratom").

MPs were considering the Nuclear Safeguards Bill[1][2].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: "Transition period" and stated:

  • “(1) The Secretary of State shall, upon laying any statement under subsection (3A) of section 76A of the Energy Act 2013, seek to secure a transition period prior to the implementation of withdrawal from EURATOM of not less than two years.
  • (2) During a transition period under subsection (1), any—
  • (a) conditions under which the UK is a member of EURATOM before exit day shall continue to apply;
  • (b) obligations upon the UK which derive from membership of EURATOM before exit day shall continue to apply;
  • (c) structures for UK participation in EURATOM that are in place before exit day shall be maintained; and
  • (d) financial commitment to EURATOM made by the UK during the course of UK membership of EURATOM before exit day shall be honoured.”

The rejected new clause was accompanied by the following explanatory statement:

  • This new clause would aim to put in place a transition period, during which the UK could seek to secure an association to EURATOM


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con286 (+2 tell) 0091.1%
DUP8 0080.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 3080.0%
Lab0 206 (+2 tell)080.3%
LDem0 10083.3%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 31088.6%
Total:295 255086.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive