European Union (Withdrawal) Bill — Clause 17 — Powers of Ministers — 12 Jun 2018 at 16:15

The majority of MPs voted not to restrict ministers to only making regulations to make transitional, transitory or saving provisions as necessary, instead allowing them to make regulations as they consider appropriate, in connection with the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill.

Transitional provisions are temporary special arrangements for the period when a law is coming into effect, a saving provision continues elements of a law which is being repealed to remain in effect.

MPs were considering the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 45.

Amendment 45[2] stated:

  • Page 14, line 22, leave out “the Minister considers appropriate” and insert “is necessary”

Explanatory notes to the Lords amendment[3] stated:

  • Lords Amendment 45 would restrict a Minister of the Crown to making only such transitional, transitory, or saving provisions that are necessary in connection with the coming into force of any provision of the Bill (including its operation in connection with exit day).

Clause 17(5) of the Bill[4], which the rejected amendment sought to impact, stated:

  • (5)A Minister of the Crown may by regulations make such transitional, transitory or saving provision as the Minister considers appropriate in connection with the coming into force of any provision of this Act (including its operation in connection with exit day).


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con306 (+2 tell) 2098.1%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 4083.3%
Lab0 248 (+2 tell)097.3%
LDem0 120100.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 350100.0%
Total:317 306097.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)no
Anna SoubryBroxtowewhilst Conno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive