Taxation (Cross-Border Trade) Bill — New Clause 36 — Collection of Customs Duties and VAT for Other Countries — Requirement for Reciprocal Agreement — 16 Jul 2018 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted to only allow the UK Government to collect customs or excise duties, or VAT, on behalf of other Governments if a reciprocal arrangement is in place.

MPs were considering the Taxation (Cross-Border Trade) Bill[1].

The proposed new clause supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was titled: Prohibition on collection of certain taxes or duties on behalf of territory without reciprocity and stated:

  • ‘(1) Subject to subsection (2), it shall be unlawful for HMRC to account for any duty of customs or VAT or excise duty collected by HMRC to the Government of a country or territory outside the United Kingdom.
  • (2) Subsection (1) shall not apply if the Treasury declare by Order that arrangements have been entered into by Her Majesty’s Government and that government under which that government will account to HMRC for those duties and taxes collected in that country on a reciprocal basis.’
  • [1] Parliament's webpage on the Taxation (Cross-Border Trade) Bill

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con289 (+2 tell) 14096.5%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent2 2066.7%
Lab3 239 (+2 tell)094.6%
LDem0 9075.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 33094.3%
Total:304 302095.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Heidi AllenSouth Cambridgeshirewhilst Con (front bench)no
Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Conno
Richard BenyonNewburywhilst Conno
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)no
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonCon (front bench)no
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Con (front bench)no
Stephen HammondWimbledonwhilst Con (front bench)no
Phillip LeeBracknellwhilst Conno
Nicky MorganLoughboroughCon (front bench)no
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)no
Mark PawseyRugbyCon (front bench)no
Antoinette SandbachEddisburywhilst Con (front bench)no
Anna SoubryBroxtowewhilst Conno
Sarah WollastonTotneswhilst Con (front bench)no
Frank FieldBirkenheadwhilst Lab (front bench)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive