Trade Bill — Schedule 4 — The Trade Remedies Authority — Non-Executive Members — Representation — 17 Jul 2018 at 18:00

The majority of MPs voted against requiring The Trade Remedies Authority to include representatives of—producers, trade unions, and each of the devolved administrations as non-executive members.

MPs were considering the Trade Bill[1].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment: 80, in schedule 4, page 14, line 35, at end insert “including representatives of—producers, trade unions, and each one of the devolved administrations.”
  • (i) producers,
  • (ii) trade unions, and
  • (iii) each one of the devolved administrations.”

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory statement:

  • This amendment would ensure that the Trade Remedies Authority includes, among its non-executive members, representatives of key stakeholder bodies.

Schedule 4 of the Bill was titled: The Trade Remedies Authority and provided for arrangements connected with the establishment and governance of the body.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con303 (+2 tell) 1096.8%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 4083.3%
Lab0 242 (+2 tell)094.6%
LDem0 11091.7%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 33094.3%
Total:314 296095.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy LefroyStaffordCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive