Tenant Fees Bill — Clause 8 — Financial Penalties — 5 Sep 2018 at 16:49

The majority of MPs voted against higher fines for landlords or letting agencies breaching the law limiting what tenants can be charged for.

MPs were considering the Tenant Fees Bill[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 1, page 5, line 13, leave out “£5,000” and insert “£30,000”.

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have impacted Clause 8 of the Bill[2] titled: "Financial Penalties" and which prior to the amendment began:

  • (1)Where an enforcement authority is satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that a person has breached section 1 or 2 or Schedule 2, the authority may impose a financial penalty on the person in respect of the breach.
  • (2)The financial penalty—
  • (a)may be of such amount as the authority determines, but
  • (b)subject to subsection (3), must not exceed £5,000.

The Bill prohibited landlords (in Section 1) and letting agents (in Section 2) from making charges in connection with a tenancy other than those which are specifically permitted, which are:

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con291 (+2 tell) 0092.7%
DUP7 0070.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 5085.7%
Lab0 223 (+2 tell)087.5%
LDem0 11091.7%
Total:299 240090.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive