Counter-Terrorism and Border Security Bill — New Clause 2 — Entering or Remaining in a Designated Area Overseas — 11 Sep 2018 at 17:30

The majority of MPs voted to make it an offence for UK nationals and residents to enter or remain in a designated area overseas, with designations to be made on the grounds of protecting the public from terrorism.

MPs were considering the Counter-Terrorism and Border Security Bill[1].

The amendment supported by the majority of MPs in this vote sought to introduce a new clause titled: Entering or remaining in designated areas overseas into the Terrorism Act 2000.

The amendment which received the support of the majority of MPs in this vote began:

  • “(1) The Terrorism Act 2000 is amended as follows.
  • (2) After section 58A insert—
  • ‘Entering or remaining in designated areas overseas
  • 58B Entering or remaining in a designated area
  • “(1) A person commits an offence if—
  • (a) the person enters, or remains in, a designated area, and
  • (b) the person is a United Kingdom national, or a United Kingdom resident, at the time of entering the area or at any time during which the person remains there.
  • (2) It is a defence for a person charged with an offence under this section to prove that the person had a reasonable excuse for entering, or remaining in, the designated area.
  • ....

and continued later:

  • 58C Section 58B: designated areas
  • “(1) The Secretary of State may by regulations designate an area outside the United Kingdom as a designated area for the purposes of section 58B if the following condition is met.
  • (2) The condition is that the Secretary of State is satisfied that it is necessary, for the purpose of protecting members of the public from a risk of terrorism, to restrict United Kingdom nationals and United Kingdom residents from entering, or remaining in, the area.
  • ...

The accepted amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory statement:

  • This new clause would provide for an offence under the Terrorism Act 2000 of entering, or remaining in, an area outside the United Kingdom that has been designated in regulations made by the Secretary of State. In making such regulations the Secretary of State would need to be satisfied that it is necessary to restrict UK nationals and residents from entering or remaining in the area for the purpose of protecting the public from a risk of terrorism.
  • [1] Parliament's webpage on the Counter-Terrorism and Border Security Bill

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con281 0 (+2 tell)089.6%
DUP9 0090.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent2 0028.6%
Lab0 000.0%
LDem0 (+1 tell) 10091.7%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 (+1 tell) 32094.3%
Total:292 47053.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mims DaviesEastleighCon (front bench)tellno
Wendy MortonAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)tellno
Alistair CarmichaelOrkney and ShetlandLDem (front bench)tellaye
Gavin NewlandsPaisley and Renfrewshire NorthSNP (front bench)tellaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive