Civil Liability Bill — Third Reading — Set Tarriff of Damages for Whiplash Injuries — 23 Oct 2018 at 19:00

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a set tariff of damages for whiplash injuries and related minor psychological injuries.

MPs were considering the Civil Liability Bill[1].

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That the Bill be now read the Third time.

The support of the majority of MPs enabled the Bill to continue on its path to becoming law.

The Bill

  • Defined whiplash injuries which the Bill would impact, limiting them to cases involving the use of a motor vehicle other than a motor cycle on a road or other public place in England or Wales.
  • Permitted the setting of a fixed tariff for damages in respect of whiplash injuries which did not, or are not expected to, last longer than two years; with allowance for exceptional circumstances.
  • Requires medical evidence before a whiplash claim can be settled
  • [1] Parliament's webpage on the Civil Liability Bill
  • [2] Explanatory notes to the provisions of the Civil Liability Bill

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con284 (+2 tell) 0090.5%
DUP9 0090.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 5085.7%
Lab0 222 (+2 tell)087.2%
LDem0 6050.0%
PC0 40100.0%
Total:294 238088.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive