Consideration of European Union Withdrawal Motions — Allowing Amendments — 4 Dec 2018 at 17:26

The majority of MPs voted to enable debates, and votes, on effectual motions when MPs debate plans for how to proceed if they do not initially approve the negotiated agreement for the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union and the proposed framework for the future relationship with the union.

Prior to this vote the proposal was for MPs to debate, and potentially vote on, a motion merely stating they had considered the Government's plans in relation to withdrawl negotiations.

MPs were considering proposed rules, and a timetable[1], for their consideration of a European Union withdrawal motion under section 13(1)(b) of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018.

An amendment supported by the majority of MPs in this vote stated:

  • Amendment proposed: (d), at end add
  • “(11) The provisions of Standing Order No. 24B (Amendments to motions to consider specified matters) shall not apply in respect of any motion tabled by a Minister of the Crown pursuant to any provision of section 13 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018.”

Standing Order 24B is titled: Amendments to motions to consider specified matters and states[2]:

  • Where, in the opinion of the Speaker or the Chair, a motion, That this House, or, as the case may be, the committee has considered the matter, is expressed in neutral terms, no amendments to it may be tabled.

Support for the amendment meant that if MPs did not approve the agreement for the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union and the framework for the future relationship then during future debates on the matter, provided for in the timetable set out in section 13 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018, the motion under consideration would be amendable, enabling meaningful motions to be considered rather than only motions proposing to merely note MPs had considered how the Government proposes to proceed in relation to negotiations for the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from the European Union.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con25 283 (+2 tell)098.1%
DUP0 9090.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent4 21100.0%
Lab240 (+2 tell) 4095.7%
LDem12 00100.0%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP34 0097.1%
Total:320 298197.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Heidi AllenSouth Cambridgeshirewhilst Conaye
Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Conaye
Richard BenyonNewburywhilst Conaye
Nicholas BolesGrantham and Stamfordwhilst Conaye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Conaye
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConaye
Michael FallonSevenoaksConaye
George FreemanMid NorfolkConaye
Richard GrahamGloucesterConaye
Damian GreenAshfordConaye
Justine GreeningPutneywhilst Conaye
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Conaye
Oliver HealdNorth East HertfordshireConaye
Jo JohnsonOrpingtonConaye
Phillip LeeBracknellwhilst Conaye
Jeremy LefroyStaffordConaye
Oliver LetwinWest Dorsetwhilst Conaye
Nicky MorganLoughboroughConaye
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstConaye
Antoinette SandbachEddisburywhilst Conaye
Nicholas SoamesMid Sussexwhilst Conaye
Anna SoubryBroxtowewhilst Conaye
John StevensonCarlisleConaye
Ed VaizeyWantagewhilst Conaye
Sarah WollastonTotneswhilst Conaye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive