Courts and Tribunals (Judiciary and Functions of Staff) Bill — Right of Appeal to a Judge in Respect of Judicial Decisions Taken by Staff — 12 Dec 2018 at 15:00

The majority of MPs voted not to give a right of appeal to a judge in respect of a judicial decision taken by an authorised member of staff.

MPs were considering the Courts and Tribunals (Judiciary and Functions of Staff) Bill[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 5, in the schedule, page 11, line 32, leave out subsection 67C and insert—
  • “67C Right to judicial reconsideration of decision made by an authorised person
  • A party to any decision made by an authorised person in the execution of the person’s duty as an authorised person exercising a relevant judicial function, by virtue of section 67B(1), may apply in writing, within 14 days of the service of the order, to have the decision reconsidered by a judge of the relevant court within 14 days from the date of application.”
  • This amendment would grant people subject to a decision made under delegated powers a statutory right to judicial reconsideration.

Had it not been rejected the amendment would have impacted paragraph 32 of the schedule to the Bill.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con303 (+2 tell) 0096.2%
DUP9 0090.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 3042.9%
Lab0 228 (+2 tell)089.5%
LDem0 7063.6%
PC0 40100.0%
Total:312 243092.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive