Finance Bill — Clause 89 — Activating Treasury Powers to Maintain Effective Tax Laws on the UK's Withdrawal from the EU — Requirement for Commons Motion — 8 Jan 2019 at 18:23

The majority of MPs voted not to require a House of Commons motion to activate Treasury powers to maintain the effect of tax laws on the UK's withdrawal from the EU.

MPs were considering the Finance Bill[1].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 8, page 67, line 19, at end insert—
  • “(7) The provisions of this section shall not come into force until the House of Commons has come to a resolution on a motion made by a Minister of the Crown agreeing its commencement.”

The rejected amendment would have added a further sub-clause to clause 89[2] of the Bill.

Clause 89(1) of the Bill[2] provided for powers for the Treasury to make regulations to maintain the effect of tax legislation on the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union, and to permit information sharing for international tax enforcement. The provision included the wider-ranging power to "amend any enactment".

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con289 (+2 tell) 10095.0%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 4062.5%
Lab3 227 (+2 tell)090.6%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 350100.0%
Total:303 292093.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Heidi AllenSouth Cambridgeshirewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Justine GreeningPutneywhilst Conaye
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Con (front bench)aye
Sam GyimahEast Surreywhilst Conaye
Phillip LeeBracknellwhilst Conaye
Nicky MorganLoughboroughCon (front bench)aye
Anna SoubryBroxtowewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Sarah WollastonTotneswhilst Con (front bench)aye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive