Timescale for Setting Out Plan for Negotiations if Proposed Agreement for the UK Withdrawal from the EU is Rejected by MPs — 9 Jan 2019 at 13:57

The majority of MPs voted to require the Government to set out how it proposes to proceed in relation to negotiations for the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union within three Commons sitting days of losing a vote on its proposed withdrawal agreement.

Prior to this vote the Government would have had 21 days to publish its proposals, and a further seven before the proposals would have to be be put before Parliament. A vote on the 4th of December 2018 determined that MPs would be able to vote on a substantive motion, rather than one saying merely they had considered the proposals.

MPs were considering the following motion:

  • That the Order of 4 December (Business of the House (Section 13(1)(b) of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018))[1] be varied as follows:
  • 1. Leave out paragraph (2) and insert:
  • “(2A) The House shall sit on Friday 11 January.
  • (2B) The allotted days shall be Tuesday 4 December, Wednesday 5 December, Thursday 6 December, Monday 10 December, Wednesday 9 January, Thursday 10 January, Friday 11 January, Monday 14 January and Tuesday 15 January.”
  • 2. In paragraph (3):
  • a. after “this day” insert “and the fifth allotted day”, and
  • b. leave out “the Business of the House (Section 13(1)(b) of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018) motion” and insert “a Business of the House (Section 13(1)(b) of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018) motion”.
  • 3. In paragraph (4) leave out “and fourth” and insert “fourth, sixth and eighth”.
  • 4. In paragraph (6) leave out “up to six amendments” and insert “any number of amendments”.
  • 5. Leave out paragraph (7) and insert:
  • “(7) On the final allotted day, the Speaker shall put the questions necessary to dispose of proceedings on the European Union withdrawal motion at 7.00pm; and such questions shall include the questions on any amendments selected by the Speaker in accordance with the provisions of paragraph 6 of this Order which may then be moved.”
  • 6. After paragraph (9) insert:
  • “(9A) Notwithstanding the practice of this House, a Member may be called to speak twice to the Question on the European Union withdrawal motion without the leave of the House.”

The amendment accepted by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • at end, add
  • “7. In the event of the motion under Section 13(1)(b) being negatived or amended so as to be negatived, a Minister of the Crown shall table within three sitting days a motion under Section 13, considering the process of exiting the European Union under Article 50.”

The impact of this vote, in which the amendment was accepted, was to reduce to 3 sitting days, the time within which the government must move a motion on how it proposes to proceed in relation to negotiations for the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union. Section 13(4) of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018, stated:

  • A Minister of the Crown must, within the period of 21 days beginning with the day on which the House of Commons decides not to pass the resolution, make a statement setting out how Her Majesty’s Government proposes to proceed in relation to negotiations for the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from the EU under Article 50(2) of the Treaty on European Union.

and section 13(6) began:

  • A Minister of the Crown must make arrangements for—
  • (a)a motion in neutral terms, to the effect that the House of Commons has considered the matter of the statement mentioned in subsection (4), to be moved in that House by a Minister of the Crown within the period of seven Commons sitting days beginning with the day on which the statement is made...

Article 50 of the consolidated (as amended) Treaty on the European Union states the "[European Union] Treaties shall cease to apply to the State in question" on a state's withdrawal from the European Union". The United Kingdom had given notice of withdrawal from the European Union under Article 50 on the 29th of March 2017.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con17 (+1 tell) 285 (+2 tell)096.2%
DUP0 100100.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent2 1037.5%
Lab238 (+1 tell) 1093.8%
LDem11 00100.0%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP35 00100.0%
Total:308 297094.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Heidi AllenSouth Cambridgeshirewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Con (front bench)tellaye
Nicholas BolesGrantham and Stamfordwhilst Conaye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonCon (front bench)aye
Justine GreeningPutneywhilst Conaye
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Con (front bench)aye
Sam GyimahEast Surreywhilst Conaye
Jo JohnsonOrpingtonConaye
Phillip LeeBracknellwhilst Conaye
Oliver LetwinWest Dorsetwhilst Conaye
Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConaye
Nicky MorganLoughboroughCon (front bench)aye
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)aye
Antoinette SandbachEddisburywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Anna SoubryBroxtowewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Ed VaizeyWantagewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Sarah WollastonTotneswhilst Con (front bench)aye
Kevin BarronRother ValleyLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive