European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 — Delay Withdrawal — Rule-Out No-Deal — Scotland to Remain in the European Union — 29 Jan 2019 at 19:00

The majority of MPs voted not to seek to delay the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union; not to rule out leaving without a withdrawal agreement, and against Scotland remaining in the European Union.

MPs were considering a motion stating:

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment (o), in line 1, leave out from “House” to end and add
  • notes that the Scottish Parliament, National Assembly for Wales and House of Commons all voted overwhelmingly to reject the Prime Minister’s deal;
  • calls for the Government to seek an extension of the period specified under Article 50(3) of the Treaty on European Union;
  • agrees a No Deal outcome should be ruled out; and
  • recognises that if the UK is an equal partnership of nations, the 62 per cent vote to remain at the EU referendum on 23 June 2016 in Scotland should be respected and that the people of Scotland should not be taken out of the EU against their will.”

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con312 (+2 tell) 0099.1%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent2 0025.0%
Lab3 101.6%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 33 (+2 tell)0100.0%
Total:327 39057.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive