European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 — Avoid Hard Border on the Island of Ireland Without the UK Remaining Aligned to the EU Customs Union — 29 Jan 2019 at 19:00

The majority of MPs voted to express support for an agreement on the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union which avoids a hard border on the island of Ireland via a mechanism other than the United Kingdom remaining aligned with the European Union customs union.

The majority of MPs were also expressing support for leaving the union with a "deal" ie. a withdrawal agreement of some sort.

MPs were considering a motion stating:

The amendment supported by a majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • Amendment proposed: (n), at end, add
  • “and
  • requires the Northern Ireland backstop to be replaced with alternative arrangements to avoid a hard border;
  • supports leaving the European Union with a deal and
  • would therefore support the Withdrawal Agreement subject to this change.”

The negotiated withdrawal agreement as of the time of the vote[1] described the arrangements for avoiding a hard border as being:

  • maintaining full alignment with those rules of the Union's internal market and the customs union which, now or in the future, support North-South cooperation, the all-island economy and the protection of the 1998 Agreement, to apply unless and until an alternative arrangement implementing another scenario is agreed,


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con297 (+2 tell) 8096.8%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent3 3075.0%
Lab7 239 (+2 tell)096.9%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 350100.0%
Total:317 301096.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Heidi AllenSouth Cambridgeshirewhilst Con (front bench)no
Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Con (front bench)no
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)no
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Con (front bench)no
Phillip LeeBracknellwhilst Conno
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotCon (front bench)no
Anna SoubryBroxtowewhilst Con (front bench)no
Sarah WollastonTotneswhilst Con (front bench)no
Lord John [Missing last name for 41744]BassetlawLab (minister)aye
Ian AustinDudley Northwhilst Lab (front bench)aye
Kevin BarronRother ValleyLab (minister)aye
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and LimehouseLabaye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Hall GreenLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive