Draft Consumer Protection (Enforcement) (Amendment etc.) (EU Exit) Regulations 2018 — International Arrangements to Tackle Breaches of EU Consumer Law — 30 Jan 2019 at 17:55

The majority of MPs voted to revoke arrangements for cross-border action to tackle infringements of various EU consumer laws. The laws in question are those listed in the Anex to the Regulation (EC) No 2006/2004, known as the Regulation on consumer protection cooperation, and relate to:

  • misleading advertising
  • contracts negotiated away from business premises
  • consumer credit
  • television broadcasting
  • package travel, package holidays and package tours
  • unfair terms in consumer contracts
  • timeshares
  • the indication of the prices of products offered to consumers
  • aspects of the sale of consumer goods and associated guarantees
  • online purchases
  • medicinal products
  • medicinal products
  • compensation and assistance to air passengers in the event of denied boarding and of cancellation or long delay of flights

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con298 0094.0%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 3050.0%
Lab1 217085.2%
LDem0 9081.8%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 34097.1%
Total:310 268090.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive