Northern Ireland (Executive Formation) Bill — Clause 3 — Fortnightly Reports on Progress Towards an Executive in Northern Ireland — 9 Jul 2019 at 18:45

The majority of MPs voted for fortnightly reports on progress towards the formation of an Executive in Northern Ireland until 18 December 2019.

MPs were considering the Northern Ireland (Executive Formation) Bill[1].

The amendment supported by a majority of MPs in this vote was:

Amendment 15, in page 2, line 15, at end insert—

  • ‘(1A) The Secretary of State shall make a further report under subsection 1 on or before 9 October 2019 at least every fourteen calendar days thereafter until either an Executive is formed or until 18 December 2019, whichever is the sooner.’

An explanatory statement from the MP proposing the motion stated:

  • This amendment would require fortnightly reports to be made after the conference recess until an Executive was formed, or until the December recess.

The amendment impacted Clause 3 of the Bill[2] which began:

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con7 280 (+2 tell)092.6%
DUP0 100100.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent13 1070.0%
Lab225 (+2 tell) 1092.3%
LDem11 0091.7%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP33 0094.3%
Total:294 292092.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Justine GreeningPutneywhilst Conaye
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Con (front bench)aye
Sam GyimahEast Surreywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Phillip LeeBracknellwhilst Conaye
Oliver LetwinWest Dorsetwhilst Conaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive