Northern Ireland (Executive Formation) Bill — Progress Report — Grammar — Ambiguity — 9 Jul 2019 at 18:45

The majority of MPs voted against making the Northern Ireland (Executive Formation) Bill grammatically correct and unambiguous in light of previous amendments.

MPs were considering the Northern Ireland (Executive Formation) Bill[1].

The amendment supported by a majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • Amendment 16, in page 2, line 16, leave out “the report” and insert
  • “any report under this section”

An explanatory statement from the MP proposing the motion stated:

  • This is a consequential amendment.

The amendment impacted Clause 3(2) of the Bill[2] which prior to the amendment stated:

  • (2)The Secretary of State must lay the report before Parliament.

previous amendments had added provisions relating to more than one report to to the clause, including on requiring a fortnightly reports on progress towards establishing an Northern Ireland Executive[3] and on to require a report on progress towards protecting veterans of the Armed Forces and other security personnel from repeated investigation for Northern Ireland Troubles related incidents[4].

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con279 (+2 tell) 9092.9%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 12065.0%
Lab1 222 (+2 tell)091.1%
LDem0 11091.7%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 30085.7%
Total:291 289091.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonCon (front bench)aye
Justine GreeningPutneywhilst Conaye
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Con (front bench)aye
Sam GyimahEast Surreywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Phillip LeeBracknellwhilst Conaye
Oliver LetwinWest Dorsetwhilst Conaye
Antoinette SandbachEddisburywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive