Early Parliamentary General Election — 28 Oct 2019 at 18:43

The majority of MPs taking part voted to hold a general election, but the threshold of two-thirds of all MPs set in the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 required to prompt such an election was not met.

The motion supported by a majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That there shall be an early parliamentary general election.

Section 2(1) of the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 set a threshold for such motions to have effect stating:

  • if the motion is passed on a division, the number of members who vote in favour of the motion is a number equal to or greater than two thirds of the number of seats in the House (including vacant seats).

The reference to an "early" general election relates to an election which would be held before the date otherwise provided for in the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con280 (+2 tell) 0097.9%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent18 12071.4%
Lab1 39 (+2 tell)017.0%
LDem0 14093.3%
PC0 40100.0%
Total:299 70062.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive