European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill — Clause 21 — Limitation on Powers of Ministers — Regulations Connected with the Ireland/Northern Ireland Protocol — 8 Jan 2020 at 14:38

The majority of MPs voted not to limit the powers of ministers when creating regulations in connection with the protocol on Ireland / Northern Ireland, which formed part of the agreement on the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union.

MPs were considering the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill.[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • page 25, line 27, at end insert—
  • “(8) But regulations under this section may not—
  • (a) impose or increase taxation or fees,
  • (b) make retrospective provision,
  • (c) create a relevant criminal offence,
  • (d) establish a public authority,
  • (e) amend, repeal or revoke the Human Rights Act 1998 or any subordinate legislation made under it, or
  • (f) amend or repeal the Scotland Act 1998, the Government of Wales Act 2006 or the Northern Ireland Act 1998.

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory statement from its proposer:

  • This amendment would apply the usual restrictions on Ministers’ delegated power to make regulations under the Government’s proposed new section 8C of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018.

Had it not been rejected the proposed new subclause would have been appended to Clause 21 of the Bill[2].

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con339 (+2 tell) 0093.4%
DUP0 80100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 189093.6%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 44 (+2 tell)097.9%
Total:339 261094.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive