European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill — Rights related to residence: application deadline and temporary protection — 22 Jan 2020 at 14:05

“What matters is that the Government continue to uphold the Sewel convention”.-[Official Report, House of Lords, 21 January 2020; Vol. 801, c. 1074.]
“Clause 26 is fundamentally objectionable, because it would give the Minister a delegated power to decide which courts should be able to depart from judgments of the Court of Justice and what test those courts should apply.”
“These are powers which step well over the important boundary between the Executive and the judiciary. They are matters which should not be decided by Ministers.”
“once they are conferred the political and legal constraints if they decide to act unreasonably are limited.”-[Official Report, House of Lords, 20 January 2020; Vol. 801, c. 984.]
“we will continue to grant asylum and support to refugees fleeing persecution”.
“set out the reasons for that opinion”

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con338 (+2 tell) 0093.2%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 185 (+2 tell)092.6%
LDem0 8072.7%
PC0 40100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 45095.7%
Total:338 252092.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive