Immigration and Social Security Co-ordination (EU Withdrawal) Bill — New Clause 7 — Time Limit on Immigration Detention for EEA and Swiss Nationals — 30 Jun 2020 at 18:00

The majority of MPs voted against introducing a time limit on immigration detention of twenty-eight days for nationals of the European Economic Area and Switzerland.

MPs were considering the Immigration and Social Security Co-ordination (EU Withdrawal) Bill.[1]

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Time limit on immigration detention for EEA and Swiss nationals and began:

  • ‘(1) For the purpose of this section, a person (“P”) is defined as any person who, immediately before the commencement of Schedule 1, was—
  • (a) any person who, immediately before the commencement of Schedule 1, was—
  • (i) residing in the United Kingdom in accordance with the Immigration (European Economic Area) Regulations 2016;
  • (ii) residing in the United Kingdom in accordance with a right conferred by or under any of the other instruments which is repealed by Schedule 1; or
  • (iii) otherwise residing in the United Kingdom in accordance with any right derived from European Union law which continues, by virtue of section 4 of the EU Withdrawal Act 2018, to be recognised and available in domestic law after exit day.
  • (2) The Secretary of State may not detain any person (“P”) as defined in subsection(1) under a relevant detention power for a period of more than 28 days from the relevant time.
  • ...

At the time of the vote there was no time limit on immigration detention.[2]

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con332 (+2 tell) 3 (+1 tell)092.6%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 185 (+1 tell)092.1%
LDem0 10090.9%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 44091.7%
Total:332 250091.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellaye
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConaye
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamCon (front bench)aye
Henry SmithCrawleyCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive