Parliamentary Constituencies Bill — New Clause 1 — Permissable Variation of Electorate per Constituency — 14 Jul 2020 at 17:45

The majority of MPs voted against allowing extra variation in the size of the electorate in a constituency where there are considerations such as the size, shape and accessibility or other electoral boundaries.

MPs were considering the Parliamentary Constituencies Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Electorate per constituency and stated:

  • After rule 2(1) of Schedule 2 to the 1986 Act, insert—
  • “(1A) Notwithstanding rule 2(1), where it is necessary to take account of the factors listed in rule 5, the electorate of any constituency shall be—
  • (a) no less than 92.5% of the United Kingdom electoral quota, and
  • (b) no more than 107.5% of that quota.”’

An explanatory statement from the proposer of the rejected new clause stated:

  • This new clause seeks to instruct the Boundary Commission to aim for 5% above or below the electoral quota calculated in accordance with Schedule 2 rule 2(3) of the 1986 Act; but widens the permissible range in a constituency‘s electorate up to 7.5% above or below the electoral quota in difficult cases where it is necessary to do so to take proper account of all the considerations in rule 5 of Schedule 2 to the 1986 Act. It will be at the Boundary Commission‘s discretion whether to apply the wider flexibility in specific cases, in order to comply with the rule 5 considerations such as to maintain local and community ties, or to prevent the division of wards.
  • [1] Parliament's webpage on the Parliamentary Constituencies Bill

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con340 (+2 tell) 0094.0%
DUP0 2025.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 183 (+2 tell)091.6%
LDem0 9081.8%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1050.0%
SNP0 45093.8%
Total:340 244092.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive