Parliamentary Constituencies Bill — New Clause 2 — Minimum Numbers of MPs for Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland — 14 Jul 2020 at 18:16

The majority of MPs voted not to set minimum numberers of Parliamentary constituencies for each of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

MPs were considering the Parliamentary Constituencies Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Allocation of constituencies and stated:

  • (1) Rule 8 of Schedule 2 to the 1986 Act (the allocation method) is amended as follows.
  • (2) After rule 8(5) insert—
  • “(6) Notwithstanding the allocation of constituencies according to the allocation method set out in rule 8(2)(5), there must be a minimum allocation of constituencies as follows—
  • (a) Wales must be allocated at least 40 constituencies (including the protected constituency);
  • (b) Scotland must be allocated at least 59 constituencies (including the two protected constituencies);
  • (c) Northern Ireland must be allocated at least 18 constituencies; and
  • (d) the allocation of constituencies must be adjusted accordingly.”’.

An explanatory statement from the proposer of the rejected new clause was provided:

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con338 (+2 tell) 0093.4%
DUP0 2025.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 000.0%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1050.0%
SNP0 43 (+2 tell)093.8%
Total:338 50061.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive