Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (North of England, North East and North West of England and Obligations of Undertakings (England) etc.) (Amendment) Regulations 2020 — 21 Oct 2020 at 19:42

The majority of MPs voted to approve a ban on gatherings of two or more people indoors, unless exemptions apply, in Durham County, Gateshead, Newcastle, Northumberland, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and Sunderland.

The exemptions covered "permitted organised gatherings, criminal justice accommodation, support groups, marriage and civil partnerships where no more than 15 persons may gather, funerals of not more than 30 people, weddings and civil partnership receptions of no more than 15 people, visiting persons receiving treatment, protests, elite sport and exemptions for permitted indoor sports gatherings"[1].

Exemptions also applied "where all the people in the gathering are from the same household or support bubble, where the gathering is reasonably necessary for work purposes, for the provision of voluntary or charitable services, for the purposes of education or training, for the purposes of registered childcare, supervised activities for children or informal childcare provided by a linked childcare household, to provide emergency assistance, to avoid injury or illness or to escape a risk of harm, to provide care or assistance to a vulnerable person, to provide contact between parents and children or to facilitate a house move"[1].

The regulations came into force on 30th September 2020.

The motion supported by a majority of MPs in this vote was:


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con330 3091.5%
DUP1 0012.5%
Independent1 0025.0%
Lab0 100.5%
LDem0 000.0%
Total:332 4057.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)no
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)no
Charles WalkerBroxbourneCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive