Committee on Standards — Appointment of a Ms Melanie Carter — 10 Nov 2020 at 19:51

The majority of MPs voted not to appoint a Ms Melanie Carter as lay member of the Committee on Standards for a period of six years, with immediate effect.

MPs were considering the motion:

  • That, in accordance with Standing Order No. 149A, Professor Michael Maguire CBE be appointed as lay member of the Committee on Standards for a period of six years, with immediate effect.

The amendment to the motion which was rejected in this vote was:

  • in line 1, leave out
  • “be appointed as lay member” and insert
  • “and Ms Melanie Carter be appointed as lay members”.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con334 (+2 tell) 1092.6%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 4080.0%
Lab0 190 (+2 tell)096.0%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 45095.7%
Total:334 258094.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive