Parliamentary Constituencies Bill — Clause 1 — Reports of the Boundary Commissions — Dates of Reviews — 10 Nov 2020 at 17:30

The majority of MPs voted not to delay a review of Parliamentary constituency boundaries from 2031 to 2033.

MPs were considering the Parliamentary Constituencies Bill[1].

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 1.

Lords amendment 1 stated[2]:

  • Page 1, line 12, leave out “2031” and insert “2033”

the amendment would have impacted Clause 1(3) of the Bill[3] which provided for an amendment to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 introducing a replacement section 3(2) to that Act stating:

  • Each Boundary Commission must submit a report under subsection 10(1)—
  • (a)before 1 July 2023,
  • (b)before 1 October 2031, and
  • (c)before 1 October of every eighth year after that.”


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con346 (+2 tell) 0095.6%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 40100.0%
Lab0 190 (+2 tell)096.0%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 470100.0%
Total:347 264095.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive