Parliamentary Constituencies Bill — After Clause 4 — The Boundary Commissions: Constitution — 10 Nov 2020 at 17:30

The majority of MPs voted not to reduce the Government's influence over appointments to the bodies responsible for recommending changes to Parliamentary constituency boundaries.

MPs were considering the Parliamentary Constituencies Bill[1].

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 6.

Lords amendment 6[2] proposed a new clause titled: The Boundary Commissions: constitution which began:

  • (1) Schedule 1 to the 1986 Act (the Boundary Commissions) is amended as follows.
  • (2) At the end of paragraph 2 insert “in accordance with paragraph 3A below”.
  • (3) In paragraph 3(a), for “Lord Chancellor” substitute “Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales”.
  • (4) In paragraph 3(c), for “Lord Chancellor” substitute “Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales”.
  • (5) After paragraph 3 insert—
  • “3A The two members of each Commission appointed by the Secretary of State shall each be appointed in accordance with the following process—
  • a selection panel shall be convened by the Secretary of State to select the members of the Commission, which shall comprise—
  • (i) the deputy chairman of the Commission, and
  • (ii) two persons appointed by the Speaker of the House of Commons;
  • (b) the selection panel shall determine the selection process to be applied and apply that process;

The rejected clause provided for the deputy chairmen of the Boundary Commission for England, and the Boundary Commission for Wales, to each be a be a judge of the High Court appointed by the Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales rather than judges appointed by the Lord Chancellor. The Lord Chancellor is a member of Cabinet and the Minister for the Ministry of Justice.[4]

The rejected clause also provided for amendments to Schedule 1 of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 setting out a mechanism for appointing members of the Boundary Commissions appointed by the Secretary of State.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con345 (+2 tell) 0095.3%
DUP5 0062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 40100.0%
Lab0 191 (+2 tell)096.5%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 470100.0%
Total:351 260095.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive