High Speed Rail (West Midlands–Crewe) Bill — Report (1st Day) — Amendment 4 — 30 Nov 2020 at 17:15

Moved by Lord Rosser

4: After Clause 58, insert the following new Clause-“Consultation with residents and stakeholders in relation to Phase 2a of High Speed 2 and associated works(1) Before 1 May 2021, the Secretary of State must publish the report of a consultation with-(a) residents of the County of Shropshire, the County of Staffordshire, the County of Cheshire and any other areas deemed relevant by a Minister of the Crown, who may be impacted by the scheduled works, Phase 2a of High Speed 2, and associated works; and(b) any stakeholders deemed relevant by a Minister of the Crown.(2) The consultation must ask the views of residents and stakeholders listed in subsection (1) in regard to-(a) the impact of road traffic as a result of the works;(b) the impact of the works on the natural environment, including but not limited to the impact on ancient woodland;(c) whether there are sufficient transport provisions for the purposes of passengers connecting to Phase 2a of High Speed 2, and to address changes to general passenger movements caused by the works; and(d) if not, whether the construction of new railway stations and improvements to railway stations, including any associated reopening of lines, is necessary in relation to paragraph (c).(3) The report must be laid before both Houses of Parliament and a Minister of the Crown must make a statement to both Houses detailing any steps which will be taken to implement the findings of the report.”

Ayes 276, Noes 259.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con2 21783.0%
Crossbench33 2432.6%
DUP0 5100.0%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Independent Ulster Unionist0 1100.0%
Judge1 223.1%
Lab139 076.8%
LDem81 092.0%
Non-affiliated17 944.1%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:276 25967.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Framlingham Conaye
Lord Randall of UxbridgeConaye
Lord Aberdare Crossbenchno
Lord Anderson of IpswichCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Broers Crossbenchno
Lord Cameron of DillingtonCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Carey of CliftonCrossbenchno
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Lord Chartres Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of Cork and OrreryCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
The Earl of DevonCrossbenchno
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchno
Baroness Falkner of MargravineCrossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Hogg Crossbenchno
Lord Kakkar Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Murphy Crossbenchno
Baroness Prashar Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ravensdale Crossbenchno
Lord Russell of LiverpoolCrossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of StairCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Thurlow Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Clark of CaltonJudgeaye
Lord Bhatia Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Fox of BuckleyNon-affiliatedno
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
Lord Heseltine Non-affiliatedno
Lord Kalms Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Stuart of EdgbastonNon-affiliatedno
Lord Taylor of WarwickNon-affiliatedno
Lord Tyrie Non-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive