Taxation (Post-transition Period) Bill — Clause 5 — Parliamentary Approval for Duty on Goods Moved from Great Britian to Northern Ireland — 9 Dec 2020 at 17:30

The majority of MPs voted not to require active Parliamentary approval of changes to taxes on goods moved from Great Britain to Northern Ireland.

MPs were considering the Taxation (Post-transition Period) Bill[1][2].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 1, in clause 5, page 7, line 44, leave out subsection (3).

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory statement from its proposer:

  • This amendment is connected with NC1, which would make all substantive regulations under the Bill subject to the affirmative procedure.

Clause 5(3) of the Bill stated:

  • A statutory instrument containing regulations made under subsection (2) is subject to annulment in pursuance of a resolution of the House of Commons.

The regulations in question relate to excise duty on the removal of goods to Northern Ireland.

The affirmative procedure requires the approval secondary legislation by the House of Commons (and in some cases the Lords)[3].


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con346 (+2 tell) 0095.6%
DUP4 0050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 4080.0%
Lab0 190095.0%
LDem0 10090.9%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 45 (+2 tell)0100.0%
Total:350 256095.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive