Financial Services Bill — New Clause 21 — Duty of Care Specification — 13 Jan 2021 at 18:00

The majority of MPs voted against requiring bankers, financial advisors, and others in the financial services industry who carry out activity regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, to act with a duty of care to consumers.

MPs were considering the Financial Services Bill.[1][2]

The proposed new clause which was rejected in this vote was titled: Duty of care specification and stated:

  • (1) The Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 is amended as follows.
  • (2) After Section 1C insert—
  • “1CA Duty of care specification
  • (1) In securing an appropriate degree of protection for consumers, the FCA must ensure authorised persons carrying out regulated activities are acting with a duty of care to all consumers.
  • (2) Matters the FCA should consider when drafting duty of care rules include, but are not limited to—
  • (a) the duties of authorised persons to act honestly, fairly and professionally in accordance with the best interest of their consumers;
  • (b) the duties of authorised persons to manage conflicts of interest fairly, both between themselves and their clients, and between clients;
  • (c) the extent to which the duties of authorised persons entail an ethical commitment not merely compliance with rules;
  • (d) that the duties must be owned by senior managers who would be accountable for their individual firm’s approach.”

FCA is a reference to the Financial Conduct Authority.[2]


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con355 (+2 tell) 0097.8%
DUP0 4050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2050.0%
Lab0 198099.0%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 45 (+2 tell)0100.0%
Total:355 267097.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive