Environment Bill — Schedule 20 — Amendment of REACH legislation — Chemical Regulation Standards — 26 Jan 2021 at 20:30

The majority of MPs voted not to require the standard of chemical regulation standards to be at least that which applies in the European Union.

MPs were considering the Environment Bill.[1][2]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 24, page 244, line 19, at end insert—
  • ‘(1A) Regulations made under this paragraph must not regress upon the protections or standards of any Article or Annex of the REACH Regulation.
  • (1B) Subject to sub-paragraph (1A), the Secretary of State—
  • (a) must make regulations under this paragraph to maintain, and
  • (b) may make regulations under this paragraph to exceed parity of all protections and standards of chemical regulation with any new or amended regulations of the European Parliament and of the Council concerning the regulation of chemicals.

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following statement from its proposer:

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con356 (+2 tell) 0098.1%
DUP0 80100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 40100.0%
Lab0 197 (+2 tell)099.5%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
Total:356 227098.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive