Environment Bill — Clause 2 — Environmental Targets: Particulate Matter — 26 Jan 2021 at 17:53

The majority of MPs voted not to require a target for particulate matter under 2.5 micrometres in diameter in the air to be set at a level of less ten micrograms per cubic meter, to be in-line with World Health Organisation guidelines and to be met by 2030 at the latest.

MPs were considering the Environment Bill.[1][2]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 25, page 2, line 24, leave out subsection (2) and insert—
  • “(2) The PM2.5 air quality target must—
  • (a) be less than or equal to 10µg/m3;
  • (b) follow World Health Organisation guidelines; and
  • (c) have an attainment deadline on or before 1 January 2030.”

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following statement from its proposer:

  • This amendment is intended to set parameters on the face of the Bill to ensure that the PM2.5 target will be at least as strict as the 2005 WHO guidelines, with an attainment deadline of 2030 at the latest.

The amendment would have impacted Clause 2 of the Bill[3], which was titled Environmental targets: particulate matter and began[3]:

  • (1) The Secretary of State must by regulations set a target (“the PM 2.5 air quality target”) in respect of the annual mean level of PM2.5 in ambient air.
  • (2) The PM2.5 air quality target may, but need not, be a long-term target.
  • (3) In this section “PM 2.5 ” means particulate matter with an aerodynamic diameter not exceeding 2.5 micrometres.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con354 (+2 tell) 5098.9%
DUP0 80100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2050.0%
Lab0 197 (+2 tell)099.5%
LDem0 110100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
Total:354 227098.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steve BrineWinchesterCon (front bench)aye
Tracey CrouchChatham and AylesfordConaye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton NorthCon (front bench)aye
David WarburtonSomerton and FromeConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive