The Investigation into the Lobbying of Government Committee — 14 Apr 2021 at 15:50

The majority of MPs voted not to set up a committee to consider rules and practices relating to lobbying of Ministers and Government.

The motion rejected by a majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That the following Standing Order shall have effect until 31 December 2021:
  • Investigation into the Lobbying of Government Committee
  • (1) There shall be a select committee, called the Investigation into Lobbying of Government Committee, to consider:
  • (a) the effectiveness of existing legislation to prevent the inappropriate lobbying of Ministers and Government;
  • (b) the rules governing all public officials regarding conflicts of interest;
  • (c) the circumstances surrounding the appointment of Lex Greensill as an adviser in Government and the process by which Greensill Capital was approved for commercial arrangements with Government departments and other public sector bodies; and
  • (d) the role Government played in facilitating the commercial relationship between Greensill Capital and the Gupta Family Group Alliance.
  • (2) It shall be an instruction to the Committee that it:
  • (a) considers whether there are robust transparency and accountability procedures in place and whether existing rules are being adhered to;
  • (b) considers whether the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments’ regulatory framework and sanctioning powers are sufficient to enforce its advice;
  • (c) assesses the extent of undue influence that former politicians and advisers have on the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies; and
  • (d) that it makes a first Report to the House no later than 18th October 2021.
  • (3) The committee shall consist of 16 members of whom 15 shall nominated by the Committee of Selection in the same manner as those Select Committees appointed in accordance with Standing Order No. 121.
  • (4) The Chair of the committee shall be a backbench Member of a party represented in Her Majesty’s Government and shall be elected by the House under arrangements approved by Mr Speaker.
  • (5) Unless the House otherwise orders, each Member nominated to the committee shall continue to be a member of it until the expiration of this Order.
  • (6) The committee shall have power—
  • (a) to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to adjourn from place to place, and to report from time to time; and
  • (b) to appoint specialist advisers to supply information which is not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity within the committee’s order of reference.
  • (7) The committee shall have power to appoint a sub-committee, which shall have power to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to adjourn from place to place, and to report to the committee from time to time.
  • (8) The committee shall have power to report from time to time the evidence taken before the sub-committee.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con356 (+2 tell) 0098.4%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 40100.0%
Lab0 196 (+2 tell)099.5%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 440100.0%
Total:356 262098.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive