Environment Bill — New Clause 12 — Well consents for hydraulic fracturing: cessation of issue and termination — 26 May 2021 at 17:15

“Groundwater may be potentially contaminated by extraction of shale gas”.
“there was a recognised failure to reduce the level of nitrogen dioxide…which possibly contributed to her death.”
“research suggests that we have few, if any, rivals for the unwanted title of ‘most littered country in the developed world’…It is soul-destroying and dangerous to humans and animals; it pollutes the very air we breathe; it depresses and saps a nation’s morale.”-[Official Report, House of Lords, 17 May 2021; Vol. 812, c. 409.]
“fracking will not be taken forward in England”
“accept victory”?-[Official Report, 28 September 2020; Vol. 681, c. 133-34.]

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con347 (+2 tell) 1096.4%
DUP8 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent2 40100.0%
Lab0 193 (+2 tell)098.5%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
Total:357 216097.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Alexander StaffordRother ValleyCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive