Withdrawal from Afghanistan: Joint Committee — 15 Sep 2021 at 18:55

The majority of MPs voted not to set up a joint committee of MPs and members of the House of Lords to consider matters relating to the overthrow of the Afghan government by the Taliban in 2021.

The motion rejected by a majority of MPs in this vote began:

  • (1) That it is expedient:
  • (a) that a Joint Committee of Lords and Commons be appointed for the remainder of the current session to consider:
  • (i) Government policy on Afghanistan from the Doha Agreement in February 2020 to the conclusion of Operation Pitting on 27 August 2021;
  • (ii) The intelligence assessments made of the deteriorating situation in Afghanistan during this period, the extent to which those assessments were accurate, and the decisions taken by Ministers in response to that intelligence;
  • (iii) The ARAP scheme, including eligibility for the scheme, and policy towards civilian resettlement;
  • (iv) The planning of the Government, including any contingency planning, the crisis management process of the Government, and planning for the availability of Ministers if the situation deteriorated;
  • ...

The motion continued setting out details for the establishment and operation of the committee.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alba0 1050.0%
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con290 (+2 tell) 0080.2%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 4080.0%
Lab0 164 (+2 tell)083.4%
LDem0 10083.3%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 36080.0%
Total:290 222081.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive