Charter for Budget Responsibility — 10 Jan 2022 at 21:44

The majority of MPs voted to balance the national budget, reduce public sector debt, ensure public sector investment does not exceed 3% of GDP, and to keep spending on welfare under the cap set.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

The Budget Responsibility and National Audit Act requires the Charter for Budget Responsibility to set out[1]:

  • the Treasury’s objectives in relation to fiscal policy and policy for the management of the National Debt,
  • the means by which the Treasury’s objectives in relation to fiscal policy will be attained (“the fiscal mandate”), and
  • matters to be included in a Financial Statement and Budget Report

The update in question[2] stated:

  • The Treasury’s objectives for fiscal policy are to ensure sustainable public finances, economic growth and stability, value for money for the taxpayer, a strong balance sheet, and intergenerational fairness.
  • [T]he Treasury’s mandate for fiscal policy is: to have public sector net debt (excluding the Bank of England) as a percentage of GDP falling by the third year of the rolling forecast period.

The fiscal policy is supplemented by the following:

  • * a target to balance the current budget by the third year of the rolling forecast period
  • * a target to ensure that public sector net investment does not exceed 3% of GDP on average over the rolling forecast period
  • * a target to ensure that expenditure on welfare is contained within a predetermined cap and margin set by the Treasury


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alba0 20100.0%
Con305 (+2 tell) 0084.8%
DUP4 0050.0%
Independent0 4080.0%
Lab0 155 (+2 tell)079.3%
LDem0 9069.2%
PC0 1166.7%
SDLP0 1050.0%
SNP0 34075.6%
Total:309 206181.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Hywel WilliamsArfonPC (front bench)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive