Finance (No. 2) Bill — New Clause 27 — Review of Economic Crime (Anti-Money Laundering) Levy — 2 Feb 2022 at 18:00

The majority of MPs voted not to require a report on the impact of a tax on financial and other bodies to fund tackling economic crime and on the potential impact that a register of beneficial owners of overseas entities that own UK property might have on that scheme.

MPs were considering the Finance (No. 2) Bill.[1][2][3]

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Review of Economic crime (anti-money laundering) levy and stated:

  • (1) The Government must publish an impact assessment of the operation of the Economic crime (anti-money laundering) levy within six months of Royal Assent to this Act.
  • (2) The assessment carried out under subsection (1) must include an assessment of the contribution to the effectiveness of the levy that a register of beneficial owners of property would make

The rejected new clause was accompanied by the following statement from its proposer:

  • This new clause would require the Government to produce an impact assessment of the operation of the new Economic crime (anti-money laundering) levy, and assess how a register of beneficial owners of property would contribute to the effectiveness of the levy.

The motion rejected by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That the clause be added to the Bill.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alba0 1050.0%
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con294 (+2 tell) 1082.3%
DUP0 2025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 40100.0%
Lab0 168084.4%
LDem0 10 (+2 tell)092.3%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 40088.9%
Total:295 230082.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kevin HollinrakeThirsk and MaltonCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive