Nationality and Borders Bill — Report (2nd Day) — Amendment 49 — 2 Mar 2022 at 20:34

Moved by Baroness Stroud

49: After Clause 37, insert the following new Clause-“Refugee resettlement schemes(1) The Secretary of State must arrange for the resettlement in the United Kingdom of at least 10,000 refugees each year.(2) The target under this section includes the numbers of people resettled under-(a) dedicated schemes for the evacuation of people from a geographical locality, such as a specific third State,(b) a general UK resettlement scheme,(c) the mandate resettlement scheme or equivalent replacements, and(d) other routes as appropriate. (3) The Secretary of State must be guided by the capacity of local authorities and community sponsorship groups in delivering the target under subsection (1).”Member’s explanatory statementThis reflects the Prime Minister’s commitment to make the dedicated Afghan resettlement scheme of 5,000 refugees a year additional to the longer standing Government commitment to resettle 5,000 vulnerable refugees per year from elsewhere in the world.

Ayes 169, Noes 122.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop3 012.5%
Con4 11644.9%
Crossbench21 313.4%
DUP3 060.0%
Green1 050.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge1 09.1%
Lab71 040.3%
LDem56 066.7%
Non-affiliated8 217.5%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:169 12236.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Cormack Con (front bench)aye
Lord Polak Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Stroud Conaye
Baroness Warsi Conaye
Lord Green of DeddingtonCrossbenchno
Lord Macpherson of Earl's CourtCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ravensdale Crossbenchno
Lord Faulks Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive