Health and Care Bill — Report (4th Day) — Amendment 170 — 16 Mar 2022 at 20:00

Moved by Lord Forsyth of Drumlean

170: After Clause 164, insert the following new Clause-“Assisted dying(1) The Secretary of State must, within the period of 12 months beginning with the day on which this Act is passed, lay before Parliament a draft Bill to permit terminally ill, mentally competent adults legally to end their own lives with medical assistance.(2) In preparing the draft Bill and any accompanying documents and in making arrangements to lay them before Parliament, the Secretary of State must take account of the need-(a) to respect that this is a matter of conscience, and(b) to enable Parliament to consider the issue.”

Ayes 145, Noes 179.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop4 016.7%
Con102 2647.8%
Crossbench21 2626.3%
DUP4 080.0%
Green0 2100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Judge0 19.1%
Lab23 5041.5%
LDem18 3360.7%
Non-affiliated6 519.3%
PC0 1100.0%
UUP1 050.0%
Total:179 14540.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Anderson of SwanseaLab (minister)no
The Earl of ArranConaye
Lord Bach Lab (minister)no
Lord Baker of DorkingConaye
Lord Balfe Conaye
Lord Beith LDem (front bench)no
Baroness Benjamin LDem (front bench)no
Lord Bethell Conaye
Baroness Blower Lab (minister)no
Baroness Bryan of PartickLabno
Lord Burnett LDemno
Baroness Butler-Sloss Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Campbell of SurbitonCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Lord Cashman Non-affiliatedaye
Lord Clement-Jones LDem (front bench)no
Lord Cooper of WindrushNon-affiliatedaye
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbenchno
Lord Crisp Crossbenchno
Lord Curry of KirkharleCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Davidson of Lundin LinksConaye
Lord Davies of BrixtonLab (minister)no
Lord Desai Non-affiliatedaye
Lord Dobbs Conaye
Lord Duncan of SpringbankCon (front bench)aye
Lord Fairfax of CameronConaye
Lord Finkelstein Conaye
Baroness Finlay of LlandaffCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanConaye
Lord Foster of BathLDem (front bench)no
Baroness Foster of OxtonConaye
Lord Fowler Non-affiliatedaye
Baroness Gale Lab (minister)no
Lord German LDem (front bench)no
Lord Goodlad Conaye
Lord Grantchester Lab (minister)no
Lord Green of DeddingtonCrossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Baroness Grey-Thompson Crossbenchno
Lord Grocott Lab (minister)no
Lord Hacking Labno
Lord Harries of PentregarthCrossbenchno
Lord Hastings of ScarisbrickCrossbenchno
Baroness Hollins Crossbenchno
Lord Howarth of NewportLab (minister)no
Baroness Humphreys LDem (front bench)no
Lord Hunt of Kings HeathLab (minister)no
Baroness Janke LDem (front bench)no
Lord Jones of CheltenhamLDemno
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord King of BridgwaterCon (front bench)aye
Lord Lexden Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Liddell of CoatdykeLab (minister)no
Lord Livingston of ParkheadCon (front bench)aye
Lord Lucas Con (front bench)aye
Lord Mancroft Con (front bench)aye
Lord Mann Non-affiliatedaye
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbenchno
Lord McAvoy Labno
Baroness Meyer Conaye
Lord Morgan Labno
Lord Moynihan Conaye
Lord Murphy of TorfaenLab (minister)no
Baroness Noakes Con (front bench)aye
Baroness O'Loan Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Oates LDem (front bench)no
Baroness Osamor Labno
Lord Paddick LDem (front bench)no
Lord Pendry Labno
Baroness Pinnock LDem (front bench)no
Lord Ravensdale Crossbenchno
Lord Rooker Lab (minister)no
Lord Russell of LiverpoolCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Sassoon Conaye
Lord Sentamu Crossbenchno
Baroness Shackleton of BelgraviaCon (front bench)aye
Baroness Sheehan LDem (front bench)no
Lord Sherbourne of DidsburyCon (front bench)aye
Lord Shipley LDemno
Lord Sikka Labno
Baroness Smith of NewnhamLDem (front bench)no
Lord Stirrup Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Strasburger LDem (front bench)no
Lord Stunell LDem (front bench)no
Lord Thomas of GresfordLDem (front bench)no
Lord Touhig Lab (minister)no
Lord Tunnicliffe Lab (minister)no
Lord Turnberg Labno
Lord Vinson Conaye
Lord Watson of InvergowrieLab (minister)no
Lord Willetts Conaye
Lord Young of CookhamCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive