Nationality and Borders Bill — Clause 71 — Electronic Travel Authorisations — Local Journeys from the Republic of Ireland to Northern Ireland — 22 Mar 2022 at 19:18

The majority of MPs voted not to exempt all those travelling to Northern Ireland on a local journey from the Republic of Ireland from a requirement to have an Electronic Travel Authorisation in-place. British citizens and those able to enter the UK without leave from outside the common travel area (comprising the United Kingdom, Ireland, Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man) were already to be exempt.

MPs were considering the Nationality and Borders Bill.[1][2][3]

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 26.

Lords amendment 26 stated[4]:

  • Page 74, line 16, at end insert—
  • “(c) the individual is travelling to Northern Ireland on a local journey from the Republic of Ireland.”

Explanatory notes to the Lords Amendment rejected in this vote state[5]:

  • The amendment inserts a new paragraph (c) into the new s.11C(3) of the Immigration Act 1971, stating that the Secretary of State cannot impose an ETA requirement on any person travelling to Northern Ireland from Ireland on a local journey. Accordingly, those who require an ETA would be legally permitted to enter the UK across the land border on the island of Ireland without obtaining an ETA

ETA stands for Electronic Travel Authorisation.

Had it not been rejected the amendment would have impacted Clause 71 of the Bill[2][3] which was titled: Electronic travel authorisations and provided for a new part to be added to the Immigration Act 1971 on the subject, including provisions stating:

  • (2) Immigration rules may require an individual of a description specified in the rules not to travel to the United Kingdom from any place (including a place in the common travel area), whether with a view to entering the United Kingdom or to passing through it without entering, unless the individual has an ETA that is valid for the individual’s journey to the United Kingdom.
  • (3) The rules may not impose this requirement on an individual if—
  • (a) the individual is a British citizen, or
  • (b) the individual would, on arrival in the United Kingdom, be entitled to enter without leave.
  • (4) In relation to an individual travelling to the United Kingdom on a local journey from a place in the common travel area, subsection (3)(b) applies only if the individual would also be entitled to enter without leave if the journey were instead from a place outside the common travel area

The Common Travel Area comprises "the UK, the Crown Dependencies (Bailiwick of Jersey, Bailiwick of Guernsey and the Isle of Man) and Ireland".[6]

The Explanatory notes to the Bill[3] explain the Government's motivation for bringing in Electronic Travel Authorisations as being to:

  • enhance the Government’s ability to screen people in advance of arrival and prevent the travel of those who pose a threat to the UK


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alba0 1050.0%
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con291 (+2 tell) 1081.2%
DUP4 0050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 3060.0%
Lab0 158079.0%
LDem0 10 (+2 tell)092.3%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 37082.2%
Total:295 216080.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Simon HoareNorth DorsetCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive