Nationality and Borders Bill — Clause 28 — Removal of Asylum Seeker to Safe Country — 22 Mar 2022 at 16:18

The majority of MPs voted to permit removing someone to a safe third country whilst their asylum claim is pending.

MPs were considering the Nationality and Borders Bill.[1][2][3]

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 9.

Lords amendment 9[4][5] stated:

  • Page 33, line 20, leave out paragraph (a)

Had it not been rejected the amendment would have impacted Clause 28 of the Bill which was titled: Removal of asylum seeker to safe country and stated:

  • Schedule 3 makes amendments to—
  • (a) section 77 of the Nationality, Immigration and Asylum Act 2002 (no removal while claim for asylum pending), and
  • (b) Schedule 3 to the Asylum and Immigration (Treatment of Claimants, etc) Act 2004 (removal of asylum seeker to safe country).

Schedules are generally activated by clauses within acts. The intent of the amendment rejected in this vote was to deactivate elements of Schedule 3 of the Bill which amend the Nationality, Immigration and Asylum Act 2002. Subclause (a) relates to making it possible to remove someone to a safe third country whilst their asylum claim is pending, subclause (b) relates to how the list of safe countries is determined.[2][3]


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alba0 1050.0%
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con297 (+2 tell) 3083.4%
DUP0 80100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 3080.0%
Lab0 161 (+2 tell)081.5%
LDem0 130100.0%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 36080.0%
Total:298 231083.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Simon HoareNorth DorsetCon (front bench)no
Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive